In Which We Will Not Eat Sex

I have, some little time previous, raised questions here regarding the relationship between the dominion mandate, sanctification, and principles of vegetarianism. I re-present them for your review, if that is something that you are interested in, below:

Rights v. Duties I
Rights v. Duties II
Apocalypse and Veganism I
Apocalypse and Veganism II
Veganism and the Fulfilling Lives of Chickens

Veganism and the Fulfilling Lives of Cows I

Veganism and the Fulfilling Lives of Cows II
Paedobaptism and Coco the Talking Gorilla

I do this for two reasons. One, I just picked up God’s Covenant with the Animals again and am working my way through it, so that’s what is coming down the old pike.

Secondly, I had a think today which may or may not be relevant to that discussion.

I overheard something from my eighth graders’ Medieval history class about a radical Christian sect (the Albigensians, I think) which eschewed any and all sexual relations, going so far as to avoid contact with all things created by sexual union, including what they ate (meat, eggs, etc.).

This made me wonder, could veganism be much the same thing? As the above articles indicate, I tend to lean in a vegetarian direction, though am not yet practically convinced of the necessity of such a diet at the present time.

Nevertheless, veganism seems to have an incipient servility to an abstract ideal which is at odds not just with cruelty or death, but with bodies and blood as such. The ascetic separation of self from the pains of the physical is as higher knowledge.

Moving in a vegetarian direction is one thing (though no “ideal” should ever drive our behaviour), but a pure veganism seems to be nothing better than the contemporary, secular West’s Gnosticism.

5 comments on “In Which We Will Not Eat Sex

  1. Abra says:

    Babe, you have no idea the kind of self control I’m exercising right now in not asking a valid historical, however, inappropriate question.

  2. the answer, I’m fairly certain, is “no”.

  3. I wrote a post about vegetarianism a couple of months ago. The beginning premise is that we are shepherds of animals, so it would seem we shouldn’t devour them. But then I observed that the Shepherd–Jesus–does devour His sheep. Not of course in that way, but as any child does, he draws his very life from the flesh and blood of His mother. And the Church is present in the Eucharist. And Christ, the perfect shepherd of sheep, ate meat, and even the resurrected Christ ate fish. But perhaps we should see his eating fish as our eating the Fish. We do not yet see its Easter, but it’s death is the animal’s Good Friday. And when we eat an animal, perhaps we eat the animal’s Last Supper.

  4. In the beginning, the Garden of Eden was vegan – God said that Adam and Eve could eat any of the plants they found, with the exception of fruit from the tree of knowledge. It was only after “the fall” that humans became carnivores.

    I’m not a religious person, but it seems to me that veganism is the most compassionate diet one can adopt…something to think about.

  5. animallover,

    if you drop by again, perhaps you could explain what you mean by “compassionate”, and maybe further explain why a human being is obligated to be compassionate.

    in any event, thanks for the comment,

Leave a Reply

