In Which We Feel Less Confused

Friend Remy offers here an explanation of an e.e cummings Christmas poem. Not sure what I think of it critically, but his exposition did succeed in mitigating my annoyance at being presented with a sudoku puzzle in the shape of a poem (hopefully Remy won’t read this).

In any event, read Remy’s article.

Powered by ScribeFire.

8 comments on “In Which We Feel Less Confused

  1. Remy says:

    Dude, I read your blog. Get used to it. And please, E. E. Cummings. The idea that he insisted that his name be written in lower case is a myth.

  2. mea culpa. though the missed period after the second “e” bugs me more. alas…

  3. bitterhermit says:

    Somehow, I imagine him – Cummings – picking up a twisted piece of X-mas wrapping paper and writing the poem on it and then twisting it to see what it would look like. And then crafting it from there to match what he saw in his mind’s eye.
    Thanks for sharing this. I tag-surfed here after leaving Remy two cents worth.
    And the thing with the ee business, I believe, was Cummings’ publisher’s doing. But, this too could be urban legend.
    David

  4. kyriosity says:

    Off topic: Ben, please post your poems from the other night hither or yon. I can’t listen fast enough with my ears (especially ‘cuz you read ’em like it was a speed contest or somethin’), and would like to hear them again with my eyes. Thanks.

  5. did i win?
    they are up here already. check the subject heading “poetry”.

  6. Kelly says:

    Good night, I would never have known what to make of that and I like some of his stuff “anyone lived in a pretty how town” and “i thank the God for greenly sprites of trees” (that last I haven’t read in ages so I don’t if I’m quoting it right).

    Whether we stole decorating a tree from pagans or not, I certainly love the imagery of the tree that grew up from the mustard seed — big enough to lodge all the birds of the air. And of course the Tree of Life from the Garden of Eden which we see in Revelation, bearing twelve different fruits, each in its own season. I’ve decided that I’m going to look for fruit and bird ornaments that I can hang our tree next year.

    Oh, and Hel was Loki’s daughter, who was the queen of the dead. Hell’s a good old Anglo-Saxon word roughly synonymous with Hades, and reasonably similar to Sheol in meaning. But I thought “the lake of fire” (Gehenna) is what we generally think of when we speak of Hell. That certainly predates the Koran (sorry I’m old; I still say “Peking” too instead that new word).

  7. Kelly says:

    I meant “I thank thee, God…” :-p

  8. […] wonder what went wrong in the poet’s childhood. So I was very happy when earlier this year Ben posted a link to Remy’s explanation of this purely visual poem — and it’s very […]

Leave a Reply

