Underwhelmed

Watched 21 Grams a few weeks ago with some friends from work. I know it’s hip and groovy to screw with the chronology and all, but honestly; what was the point? For the first half hour, I assumed that the director put the film together this way because he didn’t have a decent story to tell and figured he could slip it by me if I couldn’t figure the story out. But that wasn’t the case. It really was a pretty good story. Smidge melodramatic, but not bad. So whyfor not tell the story in the right order? Made sense for Memento. Not so much here (set me straight if you like). The dramatic arcs were choppy, and over all the film fell emotionally flat. I found I couldn’t tie to the characters well, which is unfortunate because the actor’s performances were uniformly great.

Leave a Reply

